Map of the Eolian Islands

Seven are the Aeolian Islands, located to the north of Sicily in the province of Messina. All of volcanic origin, with a currently active volcano (Stromboli) and two others with a record of historical eruptions (Vulcano and Lipari) and one in fumarolic activity (Panarea), constitute a very complex in terms of geodynamics. The largest of the seven islands of Lipari is the administrative center of all the other islands except Salina, which alone boasts three municipalities. The highest point is Monte Fossa delle Felci in Salina, at 960 m above sea level, followed by Stromboli (924 m asl).

Click on the individual islands or on the names to deepen the content


Stromboli Panarea Lipari Vulcano
Salina Filicudi Alicudi  



Comments are closed.